Baccalaureate Ceremony

Concordia University Wisconsin is pleased to recognize academic excellence among its students.

Each year, the university’s academic departments award honors to students who excelled in their chosen fields of study, displayed exemplary Christian character, or went above and beyond in service to others.

The spring 2023 awards are as follows. Congratulations to this year’s recipients!

Academic Awards

The American Bicentennial Award for demonstrating perseverance and commitment while pursuing a degree in business

  • Elizabeth Hacker

The E. R. Brann Citizenship Award established in 1953 by Mr. E. R. Brann for a student who demonstrated exceptional qualities of leadership, citizenship, and sturdy Christian character

  • Yannik Gruner

The CUW Visual Arts Award 

  • Jessi Alexander
  • Saul Leon

The Marsha Konz Student Educator Award for superior achievement in the field of teacher education

  • Anna Krafft

The Marsha Konz Graduate Educator Award for outstanding performance as an educator and as a student in graduate education studies

  • Karen DeWalt

The Moeller Awards were established by Mr. E. R. Brann in gratitude for spiritual service rendered by Professor Elmer J. Moeller during WWII

  • Brian Frank (Moeller Award in German)
  • Peter Pohlod (Moeller Award in Greek)
  • Peter Pohlod (Moeller Award in Hebrew)
  • Elizabeth Paul (Moeller Award in Latin)
  • Ione Hoy (Moeller Award in Spanish)

The Nightingale Nursing Award for superior achievement in nursing

  • Kristina Pietrzak

The Northrup-Bartelt Music Award was established in memory of Hubert and Regina Northrup for students with unusual interest and talent in music

  • Christal Hopfensperger

The Søren Kierkegaard Philosophy Award is given to a graduating philosophy major with superior achievement in philosophical research

  • Isaiah Mudge

The Religion Award for superior achievement in religion

  • Isiah Mudge

The Wilhelm Schickard Award for superior achievement in Computer Science

  • Emily Sear

The Science Award for superior achievement in Life Sciences

  • Lauren Wolfrath

The Science Award for superior achievement in Physical Sciences

  • Rachel Osell

The Walter W. Stuenkel Award was established by Mr. E. R. Brann in honor of a former president of Concordia for a student who is outstanding in academics and co-curricular activities

  • Rachel Bender

The Zondervan Publishing House Award for the outstanding biblical Greek student

  • Isaiah Mudge

The Zondervan Publishing House Award for the outstanding biblical Hebrew student

  • Ryan Milbrath

The Zondervan Publishing House Award for the outstanding biblical Theology student

  • Becka Prestwich

Student Life Awards

Campus Ministry Leader of the Year        

  • Rachel Bender
  • Ryan Milbrath

Black Student Union Leader of the Year      

  • Nataysia Swope

Latin Student Union Leader of the Year

  • Vannessa Martinez

Music Leader of the Year   

  • Zachary Roeglin

Student Activities Leader of the Year  

  • Megan Haller

Student Government Leader of the Year  

  • Yannik Gruner

Theatre Leader of the Year

  • Mikayla Amack

Want to Visit?

The best way to decide if a college campus is right for you is to visit. We are excited to welcome you to our beautiful campus to experience what life is like for CUW students through personalized or group visits. Learn more about our different visit experiences.